WANTED: Challenges & Weekly Prompts

Searching for recommendations.

Last year, I was part of a weekly challenge to write a story a week based on a weekly prompt. Although I didn’t participate every week, I loved being a part of the small community of writers. I’ve searched for other weekly challenges and prompts, but it’s hard to find the good ones. So I figured I’d ask here to see if anyone could recommend good sites that have weekly/monthly challenges. Flash fiction, micro-fiction, poetry, short stories….

If you know of any, please make a list in the comments.

4 thoughts on “WANTED: Challenges & Weekly Prompts

  1. Naomi Harvey says:

    Well i don’t know if they are GOOD but…. I started a weekly writing prompt this year, based on song lyrics. each week on a Saturday I post lyrics from a song (and provide a youtube link for good measure) and invite people to write a short story based on those lyrics. I don’t have many rules, just use the words for inspiration. You can choose whether to use the actual words, mention the song, or just merely take them as a prompt to get your mind whirring and nothing else. This week’s prompt is from Welcome to the Jungle by Guns n Roses.

    “Welcome to the jungle, it gets worse here every day. You learn to live like an animal in the jungle where we play”

    Come and check it out!

    • Bree Salyer says:

      Great minds think alike, then, lol. I’ve been doing the same thing on my “Tune-In Tuesday” daily prompts. I post a prompt every day, but on Tuesdays I post a youTube video with the same perimeters.

Wit & Criticism Welcome!!

