“From the Sky”

Like a truly crazy person I stood outside in the storm, my face tilted up to the cascading water as it fell from the sky. I watched as lightning zig-zagged across the blackness of night, filling the space around me with an eery white glow. It was amazing. Amazing how something that was considered so dangerous was so beautiful and calming.

I was soaked to the bone. My clothes weighed down upon me, stuck to my now cold and clammy skin. My long curly hair ran down the length of my back, dripping onto the concrete sidewalk. I was cold and wet and dirty. And I enjoyed every moment of it. How many people could say that they have stepped into the rain as I did, bare-footed with shorts and a t-shirt and just felt it with every sense on their body? How many could say they’ve felt beads of pure water drop as if in slow motion onto their arms and legs and face. Could say that they’ve shut out every thought in the world except for the rawness of brilliant silver lightning?

I could barely see the moon. It stood low; half hidden behind clouds of darkness that matched the deep black of the night sky.

I stood there until my body went numb with the cold and my eyes refused to open. I was so relaxed, so peaceful, so calm that I didn’t want to move. Didn’t want to go into the warmth, the dryness of the house. But I realized that that moment, like everything else in life, would sometime come to an end. And so I went, soaking and shivering, into the confines of my home where I soon drifted off into a deep sleep.

 

[Found this in my stacks of old writing. I remember writing it… I was still in high school so it was around 20 years ago. Can’t believe its been that long!]

4 thoughts on ““From the Sky”

  1. You’re lucky that you could find something you write twenty years ago. With the rate I have moved and thrown things away or lost things along the way, it’s amazing when I can find things from a mere two years ago!

    1. I used to keep EVERYTHING. I’ve lost a lot of it (diaries, etc. which I would give anything to have now!) but luckily I’ve kept most of my writing together. I found a stack that has stuff from when I was a tween, lol. It’s funny to see my childish handwriting.

      1. All I have from when I was a kid was my “writing folder” from school. To think – they used to teach cursive in school! And I was terrible at it, lol.

      2. Haha! I know, right. I could never write in cursive, either. To this day, my “cursive” isn’t much more than my “print” connected by lines at the bottom.

Wit & Criticism Welcome!!

