Day: January 21, 2015

Wednesday’s Daily

mon·i·ker

or mon·ick·er  (mŏn′ĭ-kər)

n. Slang

A personal name or nickname; a familiar name for a person (often a shortened version of a person’s given name);
synonyms: appellation, appellative, designation, denomination – identifying word or words by which someone or something is called and classified or distinguished from others
[Probably from Shelta munik, name, possibly alteration of Irish Gaelic ainm, from Old Irish; see nō̆-men- in Indo-European roots.]

I came across this word when I was reading the beginning of a book I ran across online. I have an apocalypse fetish and this is just another in a long line of the zombie sort. In the first pages, we find out that Australia has been taken over by zombies and humans are being cloned to produce food for them.
Evols, zombies, the walking dead. Early on, when TV still worked and we thought we had a chance, some geek labeled the risen dead as Extremely Violent Lucid Organisms. Evol was easier to Tweet and the moniker caught on around the world.
I had a general feel for the word, having heard it before but wanted a deeper grasp on its full definition. That of which I’m also sharing with you, my lovely followers….