Wednesday’s Daily

be•nev•o•lent

(bəˈnɛv ə lənt)

adj.

1. characterized by or expressing goodwill or kindly feelings: a benevolent smile.
2. desiring to help others; charitable.
3. established for good works: a benevolent society.
[1425–75; late Middle English < Latin benevolent-, s. of benevolēns kindhearted =bene- bene- + volēns, present participle of velle to want, wish]
be•nev′o•lent•ly, adv.


ma•lev•o•lent

(məˈlɛv ə lənt)

adj.

1. wishing evil or harm to others; malicious.
2. producing harm or evil; injurious.
[1500–10; < Latin, s. of malevolēns ill-disposed =male- male– + volēns, present participle of velle to want, desire]
ma•lev′o•lence, n.
ma•lev′o•lent•ly, adv.
This week is a double whammy. Although I never have a problem with using malevolent correctly, sometimes when I see benevolent I confuse the two. So, in case there were others out there like me, I decided to post both in an attempt to distinguish the words.
That way, you can go either direction with this weeks prompt. If you’re thinking happy thoughts write me a benevolent story…. but if you’re drawn to the darker side of things, sing me a song of malevolence.
