Now Write!

[Thank you, God! …they finally changed the elements of posting from the “new post” button on your WordPress toolbar. It was supposed to be a quicker way to post, but I found it took more time because you had to go back in to edit your category, etc…nooicce!]

So, back to reality. I am leaving for Sanibel Island for a few days next week and I wanted to make sure I had enough reading material to carry along. Mainly, I’ve been on an educational kick, so the last two library trips have resulted in a pile of Creative Writing go-to’s. This last trip I picked up a book titled Now Write! Mysteries. I am not particularly interested in mysteries but this book has an interesting amount of advice and exercises from various authors and to be honest, a lot of it wasn’t genre specific. It looked to be a good book so I went ahead and got it. I’m glad I did, because it has turned out to be very useful and a fun read to boot. There’s a lot of great tips and there is a useful (and I stress this because sometimes the things they come up with are totally fruitless) exercise on almost every other page. I found myself wanting to doggy ear about half the pages and realizing this was a library book, decided to see if I could order it online. I not only found it, but they also had Now Write! Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror…. and …. Now Write! Fiction Writing (which I believe was the original in the series).

So, being an Amazon nerd, I ordered them and got 2 day free shipping to boot. I was able to find used versions, so I paid a very bargain price and got both of them in the mail today. YEAY. And in brand new condition, I might happily add. So, I have tons and tons of reading & writing to do. One thing about me: I have a fetish for fill-it-out-yourself books (like the kind that ask you about your memories) and books that have writing exercises. I am an addict of the [literal] written word. I’d hand write everything if it were up to me and find any excuse I can to do just that.

3 thoughts on “Now Write!

  1. Sanibel is gonna be hella humid next week! When I left the eastern time zone almost twenty years ago, I lost all ability to handle humidity. I hope you’re packing a book or two of mine for your trip.

    1. I live in Ocala so humidity is an everyday thing for me anyway. That’s why I’ve been looking for a new place. I want to move away from Florida so badly; I’ve lived here my whole life and I hate it. My next requirement is a town that has 4 seasons and as little humidity as possible. And yes, I have 2 more of your books on my kindle to bring! 🙂

Wit & Criticism Welcome!!

