My life is like an episode of Glee

If there’s one thing people should know about me is that I have a music fetish. I feel that music plays such an emotional role in everyday life. A lot of that is just me. Not everyone visualizes time standing still and doves flying out of thin air into a chorus of fully choreographed dancers like I do every time I hear Euphoria by Delerium. That’s just who I am. And music means everything to me.

I think that’s why I like Glee so much. The show it stupid and hokey, but I love love love watching them burst into magical renditions of various musicians. It’s totally what my mind does every time I hear a song. It’s like I have an 8mm in my head of all of life’s moments and when I hear music, a long string of scenes plays like a really cool movie trailer. It is most definitely where I get the majority of my inspiration.

That being said, what the fuck happened? WHERE DID THE MUSIC GO?? How did we get where we are today. When I turn on the radio, I don’t hear music. I hear a bunch of teenagers that outgrew their Disney TV show singing songs that are digitally fine-tuned. Or people half-talking (for lack of a better term because I wouldn’t call it singing) while a catchy beat plays in the background. It’s all about who can out-fashion who and gain the most followers on twitter.

Where is all the raw talent? Solo Artists and bands like Boys II Men (who, technically you can say were a boy band, but God did they have amazing voices),  the Cure, Depeche Mode, U2, Guns ‘n’ roses, Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Goo Goo Dolls, Oasis, Fiona Apple, Paula Cole, The Cranberries, Sarah McLachlan, Edwin McCain, The Fugees, Alanis Morissette, Madonna, Red Hot Chili Peppers…. just to name a few.

Where did the days of turning MTV on and seeing actual music videos go? Did they stop making them with the invention of the iPod? Has it become MP3 or die? I remember when watching a new music video was just as exciting as a breakout movie. Special affects to the max. Maybe its just me, but now when I turn on MTV all I get are reruns of Jersey Shore or my Super Sweet 16.

There’s no passion. There’s no talent. It’s depressing. Maybe I’m over-exaggerating. It just doesn’t seem like music standards are near as high as they use to be. I blame it all in social networking. Honestly, I blame everything on social networking. And the internet. The internet is the devil.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “My life is like an episode of Glee

  1. I actually feel the same as you do! I miss real music rather than songs that all sound the same as each other by artists who don’t have a clue how to write their own music. I’ve been on a quest to find really great new music but it’s a lot harder than I thought. One thing I have noticed though is that anyone who brings out new self written music struggles a lot to get it heard. Real, raw talent is being forgotten about in exchange for one hit wonders and auto tune. I miss music too!

    1. Oddly, I have found a mass amount of new music from watching The Vampire Diaries. I have ranted about this before, that the music itself makes the show for me. Yes, there are some well-known musicians, but 2/3 of the score is made up of indie artists. It definitely has opened me up to many new songs. I have a playlist for every season on my youtube page!

      1. Oh, that’s great. I must check that out! I need to add The Vampire Diaries to my ‘need to watch’ list, I think. Thank you for compiling these playlists and telling me about them. 🙂

  2. It used to be you had to work hard to be discovered. Working the club circuit. Years went by while you fine tuned your craft. I was in several metal bands in high school. Simply put, we just weren’t good enough. We rocked and had fans, but we were never gonna make it bog. Most of us realized this and moved on with our lives. One or two are still toiling in obscurity almost twenty years later. Today though, anyone can record something, youtube that sucker, and it’s out there. No Dues. No fine tuning.

    Now, I’m not saying this is totally a bad thing. The indie music scene, like the indie book scene, allows such a wonderful variety. There are those that complain you have to wade through the sludge to get to the great stuff, but in reality, the crap sinks and the good stuff rises.

    P.S. I already preordered Weird Al’s new album, due in only nine days!

    1. It’s a catch 22. It allows for those who wouldn’t normally have the ability to be seen or heard the chance to do so. BUT, I am one of those who openly complains about wading through the sludge. There’s just way too much of it. I get stuck in it. Like Artax in the Swamp of Sadness.

      And what format did you pre-order Mr. Yank’s new album – CD or MP3? If only they could make CDs fit into your pocket…..

      1. I bought the cd on Amazon, and they do the amazon music with physical cd purchase. I’m torn… I’m a relatively new indie author, and by all accounts you love me.

      2. Lol. I’m about halfway through Forlorn Hope and diggin’ it so far. Working on my best friend’s wedding invites in the interim though, so time is somewhat of an obstacle.

Wit & Criticism Welcome!!

