Dungeon Prompts – Week 3: Inner Voice

This week’s prompt is:   Inner Voice (running from August 29 – September 4)

Somewhere in the recesses of my mind sits a golden birdcage. It dangles from a lovely chain of thought and memories, a centerpiece in an otherwise empty hole. Inside it, swings my inner voice. She sang to me of love and of hope, laughter and simplicity and of all things pure. It has been too long since I have heard her; her vocals stifled by medication and years of loneliness. A need still lingers, poking and prodding, edging its way through the silence. I can still feel it sometimes, even through the numbness and misery. A need to reawaken my little songbird who sings to me of forever.

 

9 thoughts on “Dungeon Prompts – Week 3: Inner Voice

Wit & Criticism Welcome!!

